College Coping

11 12 2009

Coping skills can help you conquer those “campus blues.”  Mental Health America offers the following suggestions:

Carefully Plan Your Day: Planning your day and prioritizing your work will give you a sense of control over what you must do. Better control will reduce stress and anxiety.

Plan Your Work and Sleep Schedules: As college students, we often leave homework and studying until late at night. Working through the night and missing out on sleep can trigger depression. Try to get eight hours of shut eye every night.

Participate in Extracurricular Activities: Extracurricular activities can provide a welcome and much needed change from classwork. Be careful not to overload.

Seek Support From Other People: Roommates or friends are great ways to make strange places feel more comfortable. Find a friend you can trust and confide in. Sharing your emotions helps you realize you are not alone.

Try Relaxation Methods: Relaxation methods include deep breathing, meditation, long walks, and exercise. Personally, I find exercise a great way to burn off stress and steam.

Take Time for Yourself: Focusing on yourself can be energizing and give you purpose in life. Focusing on others is always a great way to forget about your worries and concerns, but don’t forget to take fifteen minutes of “me” time.

These are tried and true skills to help you cope with mental illnesses. Although these coping skills are a great resource, many people need extra help through medication and counseling. In junior high, I experience  severe series of panic attacks and accompanying depression. A psychologists taught to me a game he called “now I notice.” In between deep breaths, he told me to say “now I notice…” followed by an object I saw around me. Like, “now I notice the clock.” Although, I thought the game was stupid, it worked. By focusing on simple objects, I changed my train of thought and could calm myself down. If you don’t think it works…try it! (You don’t have to say it out loud.) You can also help change your thought pattern by folding your arms and alternate tapping your elbows. If you ever feel stressed, depressed, or anxious give it a try.

Actions

Information

8 responses

19 12 2009
Stress And Anxiety Quotes | My Blog

[…] College Coping « Campus Blues […]

30 12 2009
Stress And Anxiety Books | My Blog

[…] College Coping « Campus Blues […]

22 01 2010
Stress And Anxiety Management | My Blog

[…] College Coping « Campus Blues […]

5 02 2010
Stress And Anxiety Institute | My Blog

[…] College Coping « Campus Blues […]

17 03 2010
Stress And Anxiety Management Institute | My Blog

[…] College Coping « Campus Blues […]

16 04 2010
Stress And Anxiety Tips | My Blog

[…] College Coping « Campus Blues […]

16 04 2010
Stress And Anxiety Tips | Anxiety Attack Symptons

[…] College Coping « Campus Blues […]

17 04 2010
Stress And Anxiety Tips | test

[…] College Coping « Campus Blues […]

Leave a Reply

